Character Colour Tests

Initially I had some ideas of the colours I wanted for the characters but I wanted to test some other colour options just to see if I liked any other colours better and if they suited the characters more.

colourtest1

I drew a final-ish design for Miriam and Hubert and coloured them using copics in the colours I had imagined in my mind. I wanted Miriam to have a dark dress and I wanted her hair to not be blonde as I thought that might be too innocent looking and typical – almost like Alice in Wonderland. I thought that red or ginger hair would be interesting and might allude to her inner emotions that emerge later in the game which are quite fiery. I thought a brownish colour scheme for Hubert would contrast to Miriam’s blue dress and red to show his agressive attitude. But maybe the red conflicts with Miri’s red hair. So perhaps a more purple-y red for Hubert and a ginger for Miri’s hair.

I adjusted the Hue digitally to see if I liked any of these colours better. I quite like the green dress and darker red hair for Miri.

 

mirigingerdresses

I tested different colours of her dress with ginger hair. I feel like purple and ginger has Halloween connotation, ginger and green looks like carrots and red and ginger is just…. not good.

mirihaircolourschart

So I tried to change her hair colour and see if any combinations with the different dress colours worked better. I quite like the blonde hair and red dress and the darker red hair with the green dress. I asked the opinion of my brother and he said he liked the ginger hair and blue dress best which was my first choice anyway! So… I might just go with that. Or I might put the characters together and see how they look as a group.

miricolourcombos

Leave a comment