Game World Exploration

I wanted the explore some ideas for the world that my game takes place in. I researched some visual inspiration for what I wanted and compiled some moodboards that evoke the feeling I wanted.

 

Ernest’s Apartment

erneststudy

Key Words: Cluttered, eclectic, dark, enclosed, overwhelming

 

Marlow Family Manor

mansion

Key Words: Grand, extravagant, foreboding, intimidating, creepy, lonely

 

Ravensreach Streets

oldhouses

Key Words: Busy, cramped, crooked, overpoplated, maze-like, inhospitable

 

 

Some watercolour thumbnail drawings I made to get an idea of how I wanted the scenery to look. I want the focus to be on light and silhouettes and have lots of atmosphere.

img186

 

Some pen sketches of ideas for important environments in my game.

img189

 

Sketches of what I would like the houses on the city streets to look like. I want them to all look slightly crooked and wonky.

img188

 

When I sketched some ideas for a poster I drew the city behind the characters and I liked the shape I used and wanted to explore what the city would look like from afar. I wanted it to have an interesting shape and not look like regular London. I decided that the city should be on a river as a pivotal part of the atmosphere of Victorian London is the river Thames, the fog and mist that rolls up from the river is essential for the typical idea of Victorian London. The harbour is at the bottom of the cliff and poorer areas are more towards the shore where the pollution is strongest as it is filtered down through the streets to the river.

img202
My sketches for a poster design. There is more about my process in the post entitled Poster Designs.

I used Clip Studio Paint to sketch out the silhouette and paint colour behind the city. I used the colours that I had tried out in watercolour but a bit more desaturated and dark. I focused on the lights in the dark silhouette of the city and the moonlight.

ravecty.png

Leave a comment